Organized for Efficiency

The National Commission for UNESCO has been organized in a manner that facilitates a number of activities on UNESCO-related activities in the Federation. As such key individuals have been commissioned to fill a number of specialized roles and carry out the associated functions. These positions include:



Deputy Prime Ministert

Minister of Education, Youth, Sport and Culture

Hon Shawn Richards

william vincetn hodge

Deputy Chairperson

Permanent Secretary of Education

Mr. William Vincent Hodge


Permanent Delegate:    

Dr. David Doyle

 Photo (206)

Secretary General:    

Mr. Antonio Maynard


In St Kitts and Nevis the members are very cognizant of their role as team players in trying to shape concepts and needs into constructive action. Their roles apart from raising the visibility of UNESCO and acting as liaisons between the Government and UNESCO include:

  • Mobilizing national partnership with civil society groups, non-governmental organizations, professional bodies, media organizations, and private sector in support of UNESCO’s work at the country level; as well as promoting networking at the regional and International levels.
  • Assist in the conceptualization, implementation and evaluation of projects for consideration by UNESCO for funding as well as to coordinate UNESCO’s activities in the Federation.
  • Disseminate information to the mass media, general public, individuals and Government Departments, and other institutions concerned with aspects of UNESCO.
  • Establish communication with the Permanent Delegation to UNESCO Headquarters.
  • Secure the attendance of the country’s respective delegations, and relevant Government officials, to UNESCO meetings, seminars, workshops.
  • Secure attendance by the Secretary General to all High Level UNESCO meetings.
  • To assist in carrying out surveys and inquiries by replying to questionnaires, participating in interviews etc in order to obtain the views of the relevant institutions on UNESCO related matters.
  • To assume organizational, operations and implementation responsibility for some of UNESCO’s local programmes including the observance of International l Days.
  • To foster close liaisons between state agencies, professionals, associations, universities and other institutions, concerned with Education, The Sciences, Culture and Information.

The Secretary General of the Commission serves as the designated official on UNESCO in the Federation. He/she is therefore the main executing officer of UNESCO related activities. As such he/she:

  • Functions as Chief Executive Officer of the UNESCO Secretariat.
  • Chairs meetings of the National Commission. He/she calls the meetings of the Commission, prepares and approves the agenda.
  • Ensures there is effective participation and decision making at meetings managing potential conflicts of interest in accordance with departmental policies by;

a. ensuring adequate follow-up and reporting; and
b. promoting good relations with the Minister and other relevant portfolio Ministers, the Secretary and other staff of the department, and key      stakeholders.
c. providing policy advice to the National Commission on the Government’s policy priorities.

St. Kitts and Nevis National Commission for UNESCO Members

NO NAME UNESCO Programme Area ADDRESS Tel/Cell-Phone Email Address
1 Ms. Maria Crawford Information & Communication Director, Education Media Unit 467-1520
2 Mr. Cosbert Manchester  Heritage  St. Christopher National Trust 465-5584
3 Mrs. Victoria O’Flaherty World Heritage Archives-Gov. Headquarters 467-1208
4 Mr. Pierre Liburd Youth Ag. Director Youth 467-1393
5 Mr Pierre Bowrin Information and Communication  ICT Policy Advisor, Ministry of Technology 467-1607
6 Mr Percy Hanley Heritage General Manager Brimstone Hill Society National Park 465-2609

7 Mrs. Jacqueline Christopher Community Development Victoria Road Basseterre 467-1222 or 667-3296
8 Mr Kertney Thompson TVET Director TVET Council, Standford Building 467-1483
9 Mr Darryll Lloyd Education Ministry of Education, Stanford Building 467-1508
10 Dr. Neva Pemberton Education Chief of Education Planning,CDU Building 467-1458
11 Dr Leighton Narraine Natural Science Director Employee and Programme Development, CFB College 467-1307
12 Mr Troy Mills Culture Ministry of Culture-Port Zante 467-1397
13 Ms Ruby Thomas N.G.O (The Ripple Society Ist. Nevis Street, ( Retired worker) 465-7962
14 Ms Celia Christopher Gender Ministry of Gender Affairs, Victoria Road 467-1275
15 Mr. Antonio Maynard  Secretary General Natcom Ministry of Education Annex, Cayon, Street 466-8581- 662-4320